If you live in South Carolina and own or operate a vehicle, you need to be aware of how the state’s auto insurance laws will impact you if you are ever involved in an accident. It’s easy to say that you can always figure it out as you go along, but the fact is, if you are seriously injured, you are vulnerable, which means you could be taken advantage of in your time of need.
To learn more about South Carolina auto insurance laws, what it means to live in a fault state, and what to do if you played a part in causing an auto wreck.
SC Car Insurance Requirements
South Carolina has some of the most comprehensive car insurance laws in the country. Anyone who has a registered vehicle must carry auto insurance on that vehicle in the following amounts:
- $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
- $25,000 per accident in property damage
- $25,000 per accident and a $200 deductible in property damage of uninsured motorists
- $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage of uninsured motorists
The state also requests that you carry $25,000 per person, in property damage of underinsured motorists and $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage of underinsured motorists, though these can be waived at your request.
Living in a Fault State
When it comes to car insurance, knowing whether you live in a fault or no-fault state is equally as important as making sure you have the appropriate amounts of auto insurance coverage.
South Carolina is a fault state and “living in a fault state means that you will file a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance provider if you are ever involved in an accident, rather than filing one with your own insurance company,” says one car accident lawyer in Spartanburg.
This is opposed to no-fault state where you will carry personal injury protection coverage and file a claim with your own insurer first when you’re involved in a collision.
What Happens if You Contributed to Causing a Collision
Even if someone else is ultimately at fault for causing an accident, there is always the chance that you contributed to the cause of the collision. This becomes important both when the insurer is trying to figure out how much they are obligated to pay out, and if you have to file a claim in court to get your costs recovered. In either case, even if you are found to be partially liable, you will still be able to obtain your repayment, as long as your portion of fault is less than that of the other involved party.
Having knowledge of these laws can only benefit you if you ever find that you are injured in a car wreck, and learning as much as you can about how these laws work can make a difference in how smoothly your claim is settled in the aftermath of a crash.