Everything You Need to Know About Car Insurance in California

If you are considering moving to the Golden State, or are about to obtain your driver’s license, you need to know what sort of auto insurance, if any, you need to carry on your vehicle. Auto insurance is designed to protect you and other vehicles who you may be involved in a collision with, which is just one of the many reasons why you should ensure your vehicle is protected. 

Continue reading to learn more about the state’s minimum auto insurance requirements and other coverages you may want to include when purchasing your auto insurance policy. 

CA Auto Insurance Minimum Requirements

In California you are required to carry a minimum amount of auto insurance on your vehicle. These minimum amounts include:

  • $5,000 in property damage liability coverage
  • $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
  • $3,500 in property damage liability coverage for uninsured motorists
  • $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage for uninsured motorists

Your uninsured motorist coverage could always be waived, but the costs that come with an auto accident are often high, especially if you are involved in a collision with an uninsured driver. One car accident attorney in San Diego told us “Often, those looking to purchase auto insurance should buy above the minimum requirements because these minimums are rarely enough to cover the full financial impact of catastrophic car accidents.”

Must-Haves You Should Add On to Your Policy 

In addition to having coverage for property damage and bodily injury liability, it would be well-advised to add other types of auto insurance coverage to your policy. First, it may be a good idea to add comprehensive coverage. This will protect you in the event of a natural disaster or inclement weather that causes damage to your car. 

Adding collision to your policy provides protection if you are involved in a crash. The protection should cover the physical damage done to your car, up to the limits of your auto insurance policy. If you finance your vehicle, gap insurance could make a world of difference if your vehicle is totaled in an accident. Without gap insurance, you’ll be stuck owing your lienholder the remaining amount of your loan. 

Finally, adding rental car coverage will require the insurance company to cover the costs of your rental car while your vehicle is being repaired. Unless you happen to have an extra $600 or more to burn, the extra costs to your auto insurance premium will be well worth the investment.

Auto Insurance Laws in All 50 States